Create, Edit, or Copy a Workflow

Project Workspace > Workflows > New Workflow
Project Workspace > Workflows > Load from Template
Project Workspace > Workflows > selected Workflow > Edit
Project Workspace > Workflows > selected Workflow > Copy

A Workflow is a reusable ordered sequence of searches against a specified data target. Workflows are created and managed at the Project level, but can be stored and shared at the Organization level through the use of Workflow templates. You can create a new Workflow and save it for future use within the Project in these ways:

  • Building a new Workflow from scratch.

  • Copying an existing Workflow and modifying the copy as needed.

  • Retrieving it from a Workflow template and modifying it as needed.

As you are building the Workflow you can save it within the Project at any time. This enables other Project members to run it themselves or copy it as the basis for a new Workflow of their own (the second bullet above). When you click Workflows in the Project Workspace Navigation Tree, all existing Project Workflows are listed both in the Navigation Tree and on the Workflows summary tab.

If there are no unsaved changes in a Workflow, you can add it to an Organization-level template. All Organization templates (which can contain multiple Workflows) are available for use in retrieving Workflows (the third option above) in all of the Organization's Projects, in this way providing a convenient means of sharing Workflows among Projects. For example, if User A in Project X wants to share Workflows with User B in Project Y in the same Organization, they cannot do so directly, but they can save one or more in a template from which User B can retrieve them.

Workflow template content cannot be modified at the Organization level, but Users with the Organization-level Workflows permission can manage the available templates, including adding Workflows to them by retrieving them from other templates. For important information about using Workflow templates, see Manage Organization Workflow Templates.

When you create a Workflow, you specify an initial search target (by default, Project Data) and a series of one or more steps, each containing a search query. The first query runs against the initial target, but each of the following queries runs against the results of the previous one. When the last step is complete, the final Workflow results are tagged and saved using the Tag and Folder specified in the Workflow.

In addition to naming a new or copied Workflow, you can modify the name (or description) of an existing Workflow at any time. ( However, you cannot rename a Workflow if it is running, is being edited by another User, or has been explicitly locked.) Workflow names must be unique within the project and can include alphanumeric characters, spaces, and some supported characters (such as a hyphen, underscore, and apostrophe, as well as characters from foreign languages (for example, Korean characters). However, the following characters are not supported for Workflow names: ! " # $ % & * + . / : ; < = > ? @ [ \ ] ^ { | } ~ “ ”..