Manage Workflows in a Template
Home > selected Organization > Settings > Workflows
Home > Settings drop-down > Organization Settings > Workflows
A Workflow is a reusable ordered sequence of searches, run against a specified search target within Project Data. Workflows are created, managed and run by Project-level Users. Workflow templates, managed at the Organization level by Organization Users with the required permission, allow Workflows to be stored and retrieved by members of all of an Organization's Projects, facilitating sharing of Workflows across the Organization.
A template can contain multiple Workflows. A Project member can add any of the Project's Workflows to any of the Organization's templates at any time. When a Project member loads from a template, all of the Workflows it contains are retrieved and added to the Project. Organization users can add Workflows to a template by loading them from another template, which adds the Workflows it contains to the template being created or modified. While the contents of a Workflow loaded in a template cannot be modified on this page, they can be previewed (see Workflow Options below).
The following sequence of events provides an example of how Workflows and Workflow templates can be used:
-
Project user P1 creates Workflows A and B, targeting a specific batch within the Project Data, and adds them to a new template, Template 1.
-
Working separately, P2 creates Workflow C to run against the same batch and adds it to a new template, Template 2.
-
Organization User O1 reviews recently added Workflow templates, notices that Workflows A, B, and C all target the same batch, and loads Templates 1 and 2 into Template 3.
-
Project members can now retrieve Workflows A and B, C or all three by loading Templates 1, 2 or 3.
-
Members of in the Organization's other Projects can also load Templates 1, 2 or 3 to retrieve Workflows A and B, C or all three for use as the bases for new Workflows against their own Project Data, while Project creators can select one as the default Workflows template (see below) for a new Project.
When you select Organization Settings > Workflows, the page that displays lists the Organization's existing Workflow templates under Templates on the left; when you select a template, the Workflows it contains are displayed under Workflows on the right.
Workflow Template Options
The Templates list begins with the Default Workflows template, which is initially empty. Workflows in the Default Workflows template are automatically added to Projects created within the Organization unless a different Workflow template is selected as the default in the Project creation settings or on the Workflow Templates page (see below).
You can select from the following options for each template in the Templates list by right-clicking the template or clicking the options icon to the right of its name:
- New Template – Click the New icon (
) to the right of the Templates title at the top to create a new template. - Save to Template – Adds the Workflows in the current template to another template you select or a new one you create. If the name of a Workflow you save to an existing template is the same as one already in it, a numeric suffix is appended to its name; for example, a duplicate added Workflow MyWorkflow is added as MyWorkflow_001.
- Load from Template – Adds the Workflows in the template you load from to the current template. If the name of a Workflow you add to an the current template is the same as one already in it, a numeric suffix is appended its name; for example, a duplicate added Workflow MyWorkflow is added as MyWorkflow_001.
- Set As Default – Makes the selected template the Organization's default Workflows template. The Workflows contained in the default template are automatically added to new Projects created within the Organization so that they are immediately available to Project members to run or use as starting points for new Workflows. Changing the default template changes the immediately available Workflows of all Projects created in the Organization after that point, but does not affect existing Projects. (The User creating a Project can select a different default Workflows template for that Project only.)
By default, the default template is the predefined Default Workflows template, which is initially empty. This means that unless another template with Workflows in it is set as the default, Workflows are added to the Default Workflows template, or a Project creator selects a different default Workflows template for that Project only, no Workflows are immediately available in new Projects.
- Edit – Lets you modify the name and/or description of the selected template.
- Delete – Deletes the selected template. You cannot delete the current default template.
Workflow Options
When a template is selected, the Workflows pane displays a list of all of the Workflows loaded in the template, including the Originating Project column, which indicates the Project in which the Workflow was created (before it was first loaded into a template).
You can right-click any workflow displayed in the Workflows pane and select one of the following options:
-
Edit – Lets you modify the name and/or description of the selected Workflow within the selected template only.
-
Delete – Removes the Workflow from the selected template only.
-
Preview - Displays the steps in the Workflow, in sequence. Click a step to expand it and review its contents.