View and Manage Projects

System Settings > Provisioning > Projects

A System User with the required System-level permissions can display and use the Projects page. By default, all System roles can view the Projects list, and the System Administrator and System Manager roles can manage and modify Projects using the available options.

Projects List

The columns in the Projects list display the following information:

  • Project Name – If you have access a Project and it is available, the name displays as a link you can click to open it in a new window and make it the active Project (the one reported for your session on the Active User Sessions page). ; those integrated with Relativity Server are indicated by the Relativity icon ().
  • Project Description – The description specified for the Project.
  • Organization – The Organization that contains the Project.
  • Project State – Together with a Project's availability status as shown on the Home page, a Project's State provides information about whether users can access it and if not, why not. .
  • Service —The predefined Reef ECA Entire Realm Service (by default) or another Service specified using the Change Service option or the Job Management Queue.
  • Created by - The username of the Project's creator.
  • Date Created – The Project creation date and time.
  • Date Last Accessed – The date on which the Project was last accessed.
  • Project ID – The unique ID assigned to the Project.
  • Review Project – If the Project is review-integrated, the review system (Reef Review or Relativity Server) project or projects associated with it. Hover over the entry in this column to see the full list of review system projects (which includes the templates used to create them if they are on Reef Review.) Review Projects are identified by the Reef Review or Relativity Server icons.
  • Project GUID – The unique GUID assigned to the Project.

All columns except Project ID and Project GUID can be filtered, singly or in combination, by entering characters in the search box, selecting a value from the drop down, or using the date picker to specify a date range. Right-click any column header to reset all filters or choose which columns to display.

Project Management Options

A System User with the required permissions can monitor and manage all Projects across all Organizations using the following options on the context menu (right-click a Project's row or click the icon at the far right ):

  • Disable All Projects in Organization – If the Projects in an Organization are enabled, disable all of them, making them unavailable to users. Because a disabled Project uses no resources, disabling the Projects in an inactive Organization decreases system startup time and improves performance. (Projects with running operations cannot be disabled.)
  • Enable All Projects in Organization – If the Projects in an Organization have been disabled, enable all of them, making them available to users.
  • Add/Remove Members – Change the membership of a Project.
  • Change Service – Change the Service for a Project.
  • Delete Project – If you have the needed permissions, you can request deletion of a Project and all of its contents (as long as it has no jobs in progress). The status of the Project changes to DELETE_REQUEST_PENDING, allowing a System Administrator to approve or decline the request using System Settings > Delete Pending Projects. (Even if you have the needed permissions, you cannot delete a project directly; you must first request deletion and then approve the request.) This operation does not affect Organization documents added to the Project from Data Areas, Users/Groups assigned to the Project, or review system projects associated with a review-integrated Project beyond terminating their associations with the Project.

    When the originating Project of one or more Shared Data Sets is deleted, and other Projects are still associated with those Data Sets, the originating Project of the Shared Data Sets is changed to organizationdefault so they can remain available to Projects in the Organization. When the last Project associated with one or more Shared Data Sets is deleted, those Data Sets are also deleted, but this can be avoided by going to Organization Settings > Shared Data Sets and using the Edit option to change the originating Project of the Shared Data Sets to another Project within the Organization before requesting deletion.

Project States

A Project's state, as shown in the Project State column, can be one of the following. Bear in mind that the Home page Status column shows whether a Project is available to users; a value of AVAILABLE or WARNING indicates that the Project can be opened, while NOT_AVAILABLE or UNKNOWN indicates it cannot. In some cases, however, one of the more specific states listed below appears in place of NOT_AVAILABLE.

  • ACTIVE – The Project is activated and available for use (and has a status of AVAILABLE or WARNING on the Home page). Generally, an ACTIVE Project is fully operational and has access to at least some of the resources that it needs to perform any scheduled jobs. The ACTIVE state never appears on the Home page. All of the remaining states in this list indicate that a Project is unavailable to users, and all can appear on the Home page.
  • DEACTIVATED – The Project was automatically deactivated and taken out of service because it had not been accessed by a User within the Project activity timeout (the default is 90 days but can be modified by a System Administrator using the JMX console). Deactivated Projects use no resources and cannot receive scheduled tasks. You can open a deactivated project as usual (by clicking the name link on the Home page) to reactivate it (unless it has never been successfully activated). You can also perform Project edit, delete, and export operations on a deactivated Project and gain access to the Project Settings.
  • DELETE_REQUEST_PENDING – Deletion of the Project has been requested and is awaiting a System Administrator's approval on the Delete Pending Projects page (Provisioning > Delete Pending Projects).
  • DELETE_PENDING – The Project was approved for deletion by a System Administrator and the deletion process has started. If an error occurs during this process, the Project remains in this state.
  • DISABLED – The Project was disabled when a System User with the required permissions used the Disable All Projects in Organization option, and is therefore available for deletion only. (Projects with running operations cannot be disabled.) The disabled Projects in an` Organization can be enabled using the Enable All Projects in Organization option, returning them to the ACTIVE state.
  • IMPORTING – The Project is undergoing a Project Import.
  • IMPORT_FAILED –The Project failed Project Import. Hover text provides any available information about the failure.
  • MIGRATING – The Project is migrating from Parsing Library V1 to Parsing Library V2..